Quickwriting

So I searched up quickwrite topics, because I needed inspiration and I found most of them kind of dumb (thank goodness elementary school days are over). But here we go! All of these are spectacularly quick:

  1. Write about going back to school after summer vacation.
    I’m so excited to be sitting here in this hard small fake-wood desk writing about going back to school as another reminder of the fact that I got up at 7 today just so I can write about coming back to this place.
  2. Write a thank you note to a friend who gave you onion and garlic-flavored chewing gum. 
    Tenks friend. Better watch out though.
  3. Describe a real made-up dream or nightmare.
    I dreamed about the spider girls in 孙悟空. ‘Nuff said.
  4. Write about your favorite childhood toy. 
    A stuffed brown and white dog. He’s still in China though.
  5. Write out the best or the worst day of your life.
    See, if I told you about the best day, I’d be saying that the rest of my life just couldn’t compare to that day. If I told you about the worst day–well that’d just make me revisit something quite horrible and you’d be scared. Kids also have had pretty dark moments, okay. Sometimes it’s all mixed up. Do you really want to read either 1) a cheesy retelling of a nice day out with friends, or 2) a visit to some dark, dark times? Writings of the first category are monotonous and writings of the second are scary. This is a bad prompt, please keep yourself sane, and stop asking why our writing is so bad.
  6. Finish this thought: if I could change one thing about myself (if you can’t think of anything, you might want to consider telling how you got to be perfect!)
    I don’t know how I got to be perfect. I just am. Unless you want me to say I’d like to be taller.
  7. If and when I raise children, I’ll never…
    …say never.
  8. I have never been more frightened than when…
    Again, I think you’d be scared. Don’t worry about it.
  9. Persuade a friend to give up drugs. 
    Drugs are bad for you. Not that you didn’t know that already, just wanted to let you know to make myself feel superior.
  10. Five years from now, I will be… 
    I’ve no idea and that’s why my life is exciting.
  11. Write about a day you’d like to forget. 
    See response to number 5.
  12. Invent and describe a new food.
    I’ll invent it when I feel the need for a new one.
  13. Describe an event that changed your life forever, or make up and describe an event that would change your life forever.
    I was born.
  14. Describe someone who is a hero to you and explain why. 
    I don’t know, I have too many. Just pick one from the latest issue of TMZ and I’ll have an explanation.
  15. Write about a time in your life when you struggled with a choice and made the right one.
    I took the path less traveled by.

Ok that’s enough troll for today. Here’s one I actually liked:

Write a list of at least 50 things that make you feel good.

  1. Playing piano
  2. Composing when I can get stuff out
  3. Adele
  4. Taylor Swift
  5. Ingrid Michaelson
  6. Number Theory
  7. Calculus
  8. Listening to French people talk
  9. Listening to old songs for the nostalgia
  10. Poetry
  11. People watching
  12. Good food
  13. Nature
  14. Doe Library
  15. Fremont Main Library (oh, the memories)
  16. Libraries in general
  17. Books
  18. Sunrises
  19. Stationary
  20. Friends and family and good relationships
  21. Fruit
  22. Steinbeck (East of EdenGrapes of Wrath)
  23. Shakespeare (HamletMuch Ado About Nothing)
  24. Catcher in the Rye
  25. A Song of Ice and Fire
  26. Russian Literature (War and Peace, Crime and Punishment)
  27. Beethoven Sonatas
  28. Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 2
  29. Chopin Scherzo Op. 31
  30. Le Petit Prince
  31. Braids / Special Hairdos
  32. Dresses
  33. Human goodness
  34. Little Cafes
  35. Sitting in the shade doing nothing
  36. Photography
  37. Noodles
  38. Pretty colors (there are a lot)
  39. Seafood
  40. Tea (with milk and otherwise)
  41. Berkeley
  42. Watching makeup tutorials (but not actually doing makeup)
  43. Satire
  44. Banff and Jasper
  45. Typography
  46. Origami
  47. Teaching
  48. Dance
  49. Drama
  50. The WordPress Community ❤ Truly, all of the support and the openness and the discussion and output–photography, poetry, short stories, open letters, essays–is encouraging and humbling and amazing. Thanks to everyone for the wonderful journey.
Leave a Reply

