Thanksgiving

[I started this post yesterday, but then my mom made me go to sleep early.]

It’s Thanksgiving! I guess I’ll start this with a list of the things I’m thankful for: I am thankful for my parents, my crazy sister, my home, my school, my supportive friends, and a certain person who fits in none of the above categories.

This year, my mom actually bought a turkey, and we had a somewhat “traditional” Thanksgiving. (Turkey? Check. Stuffing? Check. Cranberry sauce? Check. Green Beans? Soybeans? Check. Mashed potatoes? Yup. Random Chinese food? Weelll, we couldn’t stay away from that either.) We had a family friend over.

At one point the conversation went something like this:

Family friend: Well, you don’t know if she [meaning me] already has a boyfriend. [At this point I’m listening.] Hey, you got a dance partner yet?
Me: [puts on my most bewildered face] What?
Family friend: Wait that’s for twelfth graders only.
Mom: No! Eleventh graders have a dance too, right?
Me: Junior prom, you mean?
Mom: Yeah! Do you have a partner yet?
Me: …Um no.
Mom: Well, you have to hurry up and get one!
Me: …Mommy, it’s November. The dance is in four months.
Mom: [In the same tone that she used to tell me to register early for ACT] Still, you have to find a partner, or else no one will be available.
Me: ….Mommy, seriously, I have four months. And you know, it’s the guys who ask the girls. They’ll start in about three months.
Family friend: Well, do you think anyone will ask you?
Me: [shrugs] I don’t know.

Of course I knew, but I didn’t know what to tell my parents. I was surprised that my mom actually knew about junior prom and thought that I needed a date. Like, it won’t be the end of the world if I go stag, right? (Okay, I won’t, but still. That tone my mom used.) And my mom has been really unclear with her dating policy.

Thanksgiving dinner conversations |:

Leave a Reply

